Skip to main content

Equality Now Names 30 for 30 Impact Leaders To Commemorate 30 Years of Gender Equality Work & Reform

Leading International Women’s Rights Organization To Celebrate These Women and Changemakers at 30th Anniversary Gala – November 15th in NYC

New York, NY. (September 29th, 2022) – Equality Now, a leading international women’s rights organization that uses the law to protect and promote women’s and girls’ rights, announced today Equality Now’s 30 for 30, a list of artists, activists, and advocates from around the world to celebrate the organization’s three decades of work on gender equality. Equality Now will celebrate these leaders at its 30th Anniversary Gala, which will take place on November 15th, 2022, at Guastavino’s in New York, NY.

Over the past 30 years, Equality Now has remained true to its initial commitment to eradicate sexist laws as a foundation for achieving gender equality. Growing from a group of three lawyers in New York City to a global team of over 70 legal and advocacy experts, Equality Now is thrilled to recognize the 30 for 30 women who have made an impact on the organization’s history and its vision of a just world for women and girls.

Equality Now’s 30 for 30 includes (listed alphabetically by first name): 

Alanis Morissette, Amandla Stenberg, Amy Ziering, Annie Lennox, Asma Jahangir (posthumously), Ayesha Malik, Brisa De Angulo, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Drew Dixon, Elizabeth Evatt, Gloria Steinem, Hibaaq Osman, Jaha Dukureh, Jane Fonda, Judith Bruce, Kimberlé Crenshaw, Linda Perry, Margaret Atwood, Meaza Ashenafi, Nadeen Ashraf, Paola Mendoza, Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka, Ruth Bader Ginsburg (posthumously), Salma Hayek, Sanna Marin, Sapana Pradhan Malla, Sarah Sophie Flicker, Scarlett Curtis, Shantel Marekera, Sue Smalley, Susan Chokachi, Wilma Mankiller (posthumously), & Zainah Anwar.

“I cannot think of a better way to celebrate our 30th anniversary than through this diverse group of women and changemakers who have, in different ways, inspired us and worked with us to move the dial for women’s and girls’ equality,” said Yasmeen Hassan, Global Executive Director of Equality Now.  “Like our work, this list is global and represents women and changemakers with differing backgrounds—from lawyers and judges to activists, artists, and storytellers—each of whom has played a significant role in the ecosystem of change.”  

Equality Now’s 30th Anniversary Gala will be a unique celebration of arts, advocacy, and entertainment that engenders demand for change and celebrates those advocating for women’s and girls’ rights. This year’s gala will celebrate the 30 for 30 and feature the launch of an exciting new Equality Now campaign.  

To request media credentials to cover the event, please contact Shawn Purdy / Alicia Mohr at Slate PR ( /